July 21, 2024

NFF to Inaugurate Futsal and Beach Soccer Committee on Thursday



President of Nigeria Football Federation, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau will on Thursday at the NFF Secretariat, Abuja inaugurate the Federation’s Futsal and Beach Soccer Sub-Committee.


The committee has as chairman, Otuekong Nse Essien with the Chairman of Chairmen of Nigeria Football, Alhaji Ahmed Yusuf (Fresh) as vice chairman. The members are Aminu Mohammed Inuwa, Hon. Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande, Hajji Liameed Gafaar, Mr. Richard Jideaka and Yabagi Alhaji Baba. Abubakar D. Umar (Barde) is secretary.


The Futsal and Beach Soccer Sub-Committee is responsible for the organization of all futsal and beach soccer competitions and deals with all matters relating to futsal and beach soccer.


Nigeria has been a continental, and to some extent global, power in beach soccer in previous years, with the Supersand Eagles winning the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations in 2007 and 2009 and reaching the quarter-finals of the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Italy 13 years ago.


The Confederation of African Football last week conducted the draw for this year’s Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations qualifying series with the Supersand Eagles drawn to play Mauritania home and away next month. A total of 14 countries will be involved in the qualifiers, with the seven winners to join hosts Egypt at the finals.


Mauritania will host the Supersand Eagles on a day between 19th and 21st July, with Nigeria hosting the return leg a week later.


For the first time ever, the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup will take place on African soil, when Seychelles stages the tournament next year.


Credit: MTP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *