July 16, 2024

Troost-Ekong Clinches Player of the Tournament as AFCON 2023 Awards Unveiled


By: Emmanuel Ibitoye


In a glittering ceremony, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) bestowed honors upon standout performers of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), with Super Eagles captain William Troost-Ekong claiming the prestigious Player of the Tournament award.


Troost-Ekong’s exceptional leadership and three crucial goals guided Nigeria to a commendable second-place finish in the fiercely contested tournament. South Africa’s goalkeeper Ronwen Williams earned the Goalkeeper of the Tournament accolade, recognized for his outstanding contributions to Bafana Bafana’s third-place accomplishment.


Emilo Nsue of Equatorial Guinea, who netted an impressive 5 goals throughout the competition, was honored with the Golden Boot award. Ivory Coast’s coach, Emerse Fae, received the Coach of the Tournament title for steering his team to AFCON glory.

The Fair Play Team award went to Bafana Bafana of South Africa, celebrating their sportsmanship throughout the tournament.

Full List of AFCON 2023 Awards:

– Best Goalkeeper: Ronwen Williams – South Africa

– Fair Play Team Award: South Africa

– Golden Boot Winner: Emilio Nsue – Equatorial Guinea (5 goals)

– Silver Boot Winner: Gelson Dala – Angola (4 goals)

– Bronze Boot Winner: Mostafa Mohamed – Egypt (4 goals)

– Player of the Tournament: William Troost-Ekong – Nigeria

– Best Young Player Award: Simon Adingra – Ivory Coast

– Best Coach Award: Emerse Faé – Ivory Coast


In the AFCON 2023 final, Ivory Coast overcame early challenges to secure a 2-1 victory against Nigeria, with Franck Kessie and Haller finding the net. The Super Eagles, led by Troost-Ekong, put up a valiant fight but ultimately finished as runners-up.

Hosts Ivory Coast claimed the coveted AFCON 2023 trophy, marking a triumphant end to their campaign. The thrilling final showcased Ivory Coast’s resilience, with their players delivering a stellar performance against a formidable Nigerian side.


Nigeria’s Super Eagles, despite finishing as runners-up, displayed resilience and skill throughout the tournament. Their journey included a lead in the first half of the final, but they faced a relentless Ivory Coast side that ultimately secured the title.

South Africa’s Bafana Bafana sealed the third-place spot, with Ronwen Williams’ standout efforts contributing to a penalty shootout victory over DR Congo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *