July 21, 2024

Lionel Messi Crowned The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year for the Third Time


By: Ogunleye Oluwapelumi


Lionel Messi has once again been named The Best FIFA men’s player of the year, securing the prestigious honor for the third time in his illustrious career.


The Argentine star was awarded the title during a glamorous ceremony held in London on Monday night. Despite his absence due to Inter Miami’s pre-season tour, Messi’s exceptional performances throughout the year earned him this remarkable achievement.


The 36-year-old football maestro outshone his competitors, Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappe, to claim the coveted award. Messi’s remarkable journey in 2022, which included leading Argentina to victory in the World Cup, showcased his exceptional skills and unwavering determination.


His triumphs on the international stage, coupled with his exceptional club performances, solidify his status as one of the greatest players of all time.



The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023 Winners

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Lionel Messi

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Aitana Bonmati

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Pep Guardiola

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Sarina Wiegman

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: Ederson

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: Mary Earps

FIFA Fair Play Award: Brazil men’s national team

FIFA Puskas Award: Guilherme Madruga

FIFA Fan Award: Hugo Daniel “Toto” Iniguez

FIFA Special Award: Marta

FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11: Thibaut Courtois, Kyle Walker, Ruben Dias, John Stones, Jude Bellingham, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, Vinicius Junior, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland

FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11: Mary Earps, Lucy Bronze, Olga Carmona, Alex Greenwood, Aitana Bonmati, Ella Toone, Keira Walsh, Lauren James, Sam Kerr, Alex Morgan & Alessia Russo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *